S’More Postal Love

So, it’s been a while since I last updated. Well, more like a month since I’ve written a new blog post. I can tell you what I’ve been doing this past few weeks, but I think it will bore you. Since, this is a blog about my love for postal things, right? Haha. Anyway, before the year of 2012 ended. I did a lot of things for my relatives for the holidays. I wanted to give all my 60+ first cousins gifts but I didn’t have to money to buy them all gifts. And since, I’m known to my family as the ‘baker’ I looked up ideas on the internet on how I can give DIY food gift ideas. I found these two from Pinterest.

_MG_0605

S’mores package for my cousins. This is a pretty neat idea (very cheap too) and they all loved it! Especially the little ones.

2013-01-01 17.42.30I got the graphics from Pinterest.

2013-01-01 17.41.35

‘Make-Your-Own’ Fudgy Muddy Brownies.

My aunts wanted me to bake pavlovas for them. But I didn’t have the time to bake and give all the 12 of them this yummy dessert from ‘down under’. Luckily, I found this ‘DIY’ idea of jar desserts. I  gave them a jar of my Fudgy Muddy Brownies recipe. This way, they can enjoy baking it themselves. It’s on the budget and it saves time!

Also, my mom and I spent a lot of time shopping in Divisoria for my sister’s birthday party. I WARN YOU, don’t go there during the holidays! It was my first time to experience what I can only describe as ‘human heavy traffic’. The streets were literally filled with people. There was a street where the people weren’t even moving because it was so full nobody could even move or walk!

_MG_0619

Anyway, it was still a happy experience since I got these lovely treasure boxes. Now, I have something where I can store my letters, postcards, envelopes, stamps & washi tapes.

_MG_0560

I also used the ‘vintage’ postcards that I bought from Bee Happy Crafts for the first time. And I was able to revive the Mickey Mouse fountain pen that I bought from Disneyland HK 5 years ago! It’s the one I used to write on the postcard above.

Photo Dec 308 29 46 PM

Here’s the last mail art that I sent on the year 2012. Sorry if it’s a low quality photo. I wasn’t able to take a photo of it with my DSLR, I only used my phone camera.

It’s a bit late, but Happy New Year, everyone! I know that 2012 was my best year so far, and I hope it’s the same for everyone. Let’s try to create and do more this 2013, yeah?

© Patricia Milanes 2013 All Rights Reserved

 

9 thoughts on “S’More Postal Love

  1. Happy New Year to you too. In 2013, to send out more letters and postcards is my 2013 new year resolution. 🙂
    I really love your mail art (the girl on the envelope/postcard?).
    Oh, I also linked you on my blog. I also follow you on instagram (kelly_fabricfanatics). Really love reading your blog 🙂

  2. What a lovely idea to create little food gifts! They came out very nicely! 🙂 And I’m so in love with those mini treasure chests! I actually have them on my wishlist. May I ask where did you get them from? I’ve been wanting one so badly because I thought I could put my coin collections in it. They’re so beautiful & antique looking!

    • There’s so much ideas you can find on Pinterest! I got them from a market place here in the Philippines. They’re so light because the wood is so thin. I’m not sure if you can find some online, but I’ll check if it’s cheap to send you one. I got the biggest for only P200 ($5)!!!

      • That’s so true & that’s why I find myself addicted to Pinterest, lol. Lucky you, what a bargain! 🙂 Aww, thanks, I would love that! In exchange, I would love to be able to send you something for it.

    • Hi, Garci! Sorry for the delayed reply. Lots of things going on recently. Thank you for the compliment! I haven’t updated this blog for months now. Hopefully, I’ll be able to find time soon! If you want to see more of my calligraphy, you can check out my Instagram account. My username is zurike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

